In the State of Florida, all vehicle owners are required to carry personal injury protection insurance, also known as PIP, pursuant to Section 627.736, Florida Statutes (2014). PIP is a “no fault” insurance policy that helps a driver in an accident deal with the initial medical expenses and lost wages that often result from a car accident, no matter who is at fault for the accident.
However, these important benefits do not click in automatically.
The “14 day” Rule in Automobile Accident Cases
On January 1, 2013, Florida law began requiring that in order to receive medical benefits under your PIP policy you have to receive initial medical services with 14 days from the day of the accident. These initial services can include chiropractic care, hospital services, emergency transport, and so on.
By receiving your initial treatment within 14 days of the accident you will be able to take advantage of the medical coverage under your PIP policy. Your PIP policy will cover 80% of medical expenses arising out of the accident. Depending on the nature of your injuries your insurance company will pay anywhere from $2,500.00 to $10,000.00 towards your medical costs under the PIP policy.
If you have been in a car accident and think you may need to see a medical professional for your injuries, remember that your PIP policy is there to help – but also remember that you need to go see somebody within the first 14 days if you want to receive the benefits that are there for you.
If you have any questions about this article or your accident, please contact us at Michles & Booth for a free consultation with an automobile accident lawyer. You can contact us by phone at (800) 848-6168.